Follow Us: 
The Built Culture > All Posts > Architecture > Designing for Resilience to the Changing Environment: An Initiative by SONA|ARCASIA

Designing for Resilience to the Changing Environment: An Initiative by SONA|ARCASIA

tbculture 06 May 2022

During the time of global pandemic, Society of Nepalese Architect (SONA) conducted a design competition 2021 on behalf of ARCASIA- ASGSA subcommittee under the topic “DESIGNING FOR RESILIENCE TO THE CHANGING ENVIRONMENT”. It was an initiative taken to prepare our homes for today as well as future possible climatic and health crisis. It was a project in which the participants could take any existing residential building and modify it to meet the objective based of health and sustainability. The existing building was first to analyzed in the existing state and then modified as per to fulfill the gap.

Over 8 countries participated in this competition with 25 professionals and 48 students submitted for the final among 278 registrations. Under the supervision and guidance from Acharawan Chutarat (chair ACGSA) and the jurors Rita Soh (ARCASIA President), Tushar Sogani (Deputy chair-ACGSA), Zebun Nasreen Ahmed (IAB), Athena Chau (HKIA) and Prasetyoadi Tiyok (IAI, IAP) the marking criteria was as per A-Originality with respect to innovation, creativity and sustainability, B-Quality of presentation: with clarity of thought, communicable and comprehensive illustrations and C-Feasibility, realizable and site specific contextual viability.Seven professionals and nine from student category were shortlisted and asked to do a final presentation infront of all jurors on 12th June 2021.

On 3rd of August,www 2021 winner announcement and prize distribution was conducted live from SONA. The prize was sponsored by Thai Green Building Foundation, which was US$ 5000, The cash prize was divided among top three of both professional and student category and other short listed participants were given honorary certificate. Participants from Nepal; Anup Poudel, Ujjwal Sapkota, Smriti Adhikari and Suraj Shrestha were shortlisted and received an honorary certificate in student category.

Our Partners